Dog Licensing Fees

Licensing Fees

All dogs over the age of 6 months must be licensed.

Registration Dates

Dogs not registered prior to July 1 are considered late, and will be fined $1 per month per dog.

State Laws

In the State of Connecticut it is the law to license your dog in the Town Clerk's office of the Town in which you reside as soon as the dog has reached the age of 6 months. To avoid any delays or inconvenience to you, and to avoid penalties and/or fines, please visit the Town Clerk’s office before June 30 of the current year, or mail your renewal. Bring along a current rabies certificate and, if the dog is spayed or neutered, a spay or neuter certificate.


The cost of the license is $8 per dog if neutered or spayed, and $19 for an unneutered or unspayed dog. Licenses are renewed in Connecticut in June of each year. If you have not licensed your dog by June 30 of the current year there is a late penalty fee of $1 per month, per dog, in addition to the regular fees.


The barrier between wildlife and your family are your pets. Please vaccinate both pets and strays you feed.

The most common signs of rabies are:

  • Aggressive behavior
  • Falling over
  • Inability to move
  • Walking as if drunk

Open Wounds

If your pet has open wounds, do not handle the animal without first putting on latex gloves.